All Collections
FAQ
Student Records (data)
How do I delete or deactivate a student record
How do I delete or deactivate a student record
Matt Baker avatar
Written by Matt Baker
Updated over a week ago

There are two options for removing student records from the system: Deleting or Deactivating.

Deleting A Student Record
Deleting is the more severe of the two and has the following effects:
​

  • Denied access to their PURL: the PURL is deleted and is freed up for future students

  • No longer searchable nor appear on any student list in the EMP

  • Excluded from email communications

  • Will not be considered for resolving system duplicates

  • Student importer will continue considering deleted records and will not create this record again

  • Excluded from additional rep assignment changes

1. To delete a student record, bring up the Student Record you want to delete, click on the Actions tab and select Delete. This will bring up a dialog box with a Continue option which will delete the record.
​

Deactivating a Student Record
Deactivating is the less severe of the two and has the following effects:
​

  • Denied access to their PURL

  • Will no longer appear on any student list in the EMP, but will still be searchable

  • Excluded from email communications

  • Will continue to be considered for resolving system duplicates

  • Student importer will continue considering deactive records and will not create this record again

  • Excluded from additional rep assignment changes

  • Includes the option to re-activate the student in the future

1. To deactivate a student record, bring up the Student Record you want to deactivate, click on the Actions tab and select Deactivate. This will bring up a dialog box with a Continue option which will deactivate the record.
​

Click actions.png
delete or deactivate .png
Did this answer your question?